So I was looking into how much RAM a minigame needs...

Discussion in 'Off-Topic / Spam / Memes' started by PresidentBacon, Apr 13, 2014.

1. PresidentBacon

PresidentBacon Barry B. Benson

Yeah, as the title says. I'm making a server (as some people may know) and I don't know how much RAM to allocate to each section of it. (off topic but if you can help me with this, please share your thoughts on how much) I stumbled upon a server on planet minecraft which BLATANTLY copied so much from J&H... Even the motd message on the server list :I

http://www.planetminecraft.com/server/factionmasters-mini-game-server/

NOTE: I'm not trying to advertise my server or this server in any way, just wanted to bring this up since its wrong to just copy this much.

2. RockoR

RockoR new bagel

Minecraft:
    RockoR
    I'm not very good at these kinds of things, but I believe that it depends on the plugins used, so we would need to know what plugins you are using ;)
    Either that or I'm completely wrong xD

3. ClemensMine

ClemensMine

With 4 plugins spigot recommends 3mb per chunk/player. So for a maximum size of 1000 player per minigame it would be 3Gb each, to be on the save side round it up to 4Gb. Depends on how heavy these plugins are.

Maybe example server

/Hub ~4GB
    MVS
    Essentials Protect or gamemode 3
    Essentials Chat
    Sign Warps

/Spleef ~6GB
    MVS
    Essentials Protect
    Essentials Chat
    Sign Warps
    Mob Arena
    SPL Plugin

/Survival ~6GB
    MVS
    Essentials Protect or Commandblock for spawn
    Essentials Chat
    Sign Warps
    Factions
    Chest Protect

/Creative ~4 to 6GB
    MVS
    Essentials Protect or Commandblock for spawn
    Essentials Chat
    Sign Warps
    Plot
    Tp Plugin

So a round total of ~20 to 22Gb

RockoR and Grognar like this.
  4. Mcc457

Mcc457 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Minecraft:
    PentilexBros
    Minecraft server hosting sucks

That's a lot of RAM...

5. Leandro

Leandro Donator

Minecraft:
    ItsLeandro